Asia Pacific

Asia Pacific journalists study economic issues and reporting

September-October 2008

The goal of this five-week leadership program run by the APJC in Melbourne, Canberra and Sydney was to improve the capacity of news media in the Asia Pacific region better report international trade and economic affairs.

Ten journalists identified as leaders or future leaders in their profession attended the program. The program was funded by AusAID as part of its Australian Leadership Awards (ALA).

The program consisted of a one-week leadership workshop, a two-week master class on Reporting Economic Affairs, professional visits to financial, business, media and other institutions in Melbourne, Canberra and Sydney and news media attachments.

APJC fellows:

Ms Angela Flassy, reporter, Jakarta Post, Jayapura, Papua Province, Indonesia
Ms Insany Syahbarwaty, journalist, Sun Television Network, Ambon, the Maluku Islands, Indonesia
Mr Radot Gurning, reporter and commentator, KBR 68H Radio, Baik, Papua Province, Indonesia
Ms Anabella De Costa Cortereal, senior journalist, Radio Television Timor-Leste (RTTL), Dili, East Timor
Mr Yehiura Hriehwazi, supplements manager, The National newspaper, Port Moresby, PNG
Mr Michael Asagoni, chief political reporter, National Broadcasting Corporation, Port Moresby, PNG
Mr Ednal Palmer, chief reporter, Solomon Star and PAOA FM, Honiara, Solomon Islands
Miss Telesia Adams, senior reporter, Times of Tonga, Nuku’alofa, Tonga
Ms Lilly-rose Welwel, reporter and broadcaster, Vanuatu Broadcasting and Television Corporation, Port Vila, Vanuatu
Mr Leone Cabenatabua, editor, Fiji Sun, Suva, Fiji